New York – 1969

10 May

My Dad had an amazing life! He visited six continents – the only one he didn’t get to see was Europe!  Weird right? I mean he even went to Antarctica – but he never went to Europe? I have even been to Europe! But he said he never had a desire to go there.  He said if he could go on a free trip he would go back to the Middle East or Africa.

He had a lot of amazing stories and as I have now discovered a lot of incredible pictures! I found these pictures of New York amongst some other treasures. I know that his high school girlfriend was a flight attendant for a brief period of time with Pan Am (yes like the show for us younger kiddos) and she had to go to New York for her job.

Well, she took these pictures and sent them to my dad. Who ended up driving from Albuquerque to New York (I believe in his VW van) to pick her up when she decided the aviation industry was not for her.  Great guy? I say yes!

I hope you enjoy these pictures as much as I do!

And thank you Betz for taking them!

Empire State Building

Empire State Building – 1969

Broadway - 1969

Broadway – 1969

Pan Am Building

Pan Am Building

Statue of Liberty – circled :)

Statue of Liberty – circled 🙂

6 Responses to “New York – 1969”

  1. Jacquelyn Salcido May 10, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Amazing!!!! I love the Empire State Building pic. And yes, you’re dad was such an amazing man. I loved him so much, still do. ;0)

    • josephinamontoya May 11, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      I want to frame the Empire State building picture I think. It’s really beautiful!

  2. Rochelle May 10, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    Great pix! Your dad had so many great adventures. I’m glad we got to share some of our stories about the Middle East.

    • josephinamontoya May 11, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Me too Rochelle! I am glad he quizzed you on Middle East Religions hahahah – that is very him.

  3. Arantha May 10, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Awesome pictures!!!!!

Let me know what you think!