Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and new Traditions

9 Oct

This weekend was the beginning of the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta.

The Balloon Fiesta is a BIG deal! People travel all over the world to experience the festivities. And most people who grew up in New Mexico have some fun memories of the Balloon Fiesta.

I remember bundling up as a little kid and driving all the way to Albuquerque from the “country” to see the Balloons. One year my mom didn’t take us into the actual Balloon Park, she let us pick a balloon and we drove all around Albuquerque following the Balloon! I also have fond memories of staying up all night with my friend Jacquelyn and deciding since we were up might as well go get a burrito and see some balloons.

This year, the husband and I started a new tradition! Like I said the Balloon Fiesta is a big deal! So because of all the people who come to see and experience the festivities, there is a lot of traffic and lines and well people. So, since I am not always a fan of traffic or lines the husband and I decided to do something different.

We decided we would wake up early, get some breakfast burritos and find a spot to park and watch all the balloons.

I set my alarm for 6:30 Saturday morning and checked Twitter and Facebook to see if the Balloons were given the OK to fly. Annnnddd they were not. They were officially grounded because of high winds. So I rolled over and went back to sleep. Same thing Sunday but they were given the green light. So we loaded up the dogs, got some delicious breakfast burritos from Lotta Burger and did a little off-roading to find a great spot. Bruce and Rhonda ran around and Shane and I watched balloons. It was wonderful!

Can’t wait to do it again next year.

What are some of your favorite Balloon Fiesta traditions?

2012 Balloon Fiesta

Bruce and Rhonda running

Hot Air Balloon

5 Responses to “Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta and new Traditions”

  1. Jacquelyn K Salcido October 9, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I remember those days…so much fun.

  2. Arantha October 9, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I want that breakfast burrito!!!!!!

  3. Laura Drangmeister October 9, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    I miss watching them from my backyard. Enjoy!!!

Let me know what you think!

