Chalk Board Mason Jars

11 Jul

I have always loved drinking out of mason jars. And recently I have been obsessed with the Dollar Tree. Yes the Dollar Tree – not to be confused with those other fake dollar stores where things cost more than a dollar! That’s stupid!!

So I was spending another lunch browsing the shelf’s at the local Dollar Tree when I saw all these Mason jars. And awwwwwwww (sing that) it was like a light came on and my idea juices were flowing!

I bought as many jars as I could fit in my cart!

The next day I was at Pier One getting paper lanterns for our patio and I was reminded of a glass I saw there once. I also saw this trick on that show Trading Spaces . . . anyone remember that show? Once the 86ed Pagie Davis the show went downhill! She was a peach!

Anyway, I saw these jars a long time ago that had chalk board squares on them so people could write their names. And because of Trading Spaces I know they sell spray paint chalk board at most home improvement stores (and Wal-Mart) –

So I made everyone (and had some left over) jars for the baby shower.

I was also thinking of making these for Christmas and filling them with coco or something delicious and writing on them!

Chalk Board Mason Jars

  1. Wash/disinfect the jars in the dishwasher.
  2. Cut out a square stencil so all the squares are the same size.
  3. Tape around (not on) the stencil with blue painters tape.
  4. Tape the crap out of the jar. Tape the WHOLE jar because you are spray painting and it will get other places.
  5. Lay the jars outside on a plastic bag, tarp or cardboard cutout.
  6. Spray the paint – back and forth – it’s an art!
  7. Apply one coat and let it dry completely before you apply the next coat.
  8. I applied four coats and it worked great
  9. After the last coat, let the jar dry 24 hours before you use the chalk.
  10. Rub the chalk back and length wise all over the chalk board surface and rub it off
  11. Then the chalk board is ready to use!

Hope your do-it-yourself projects turn out well!

Enjoy!

Wash/disinfect the jars in the dishwasher.

Cut out a square stencil so all the squares are the same size

Cut out a square stencil so all the squares are the same size

Tape around (not on) the stencil with blue painters tape

Tape around (not on) the stencil with blue painters tape

Tape the crap out of the jar. Tape the WHOLE jar because you are spray painting and it will get other places.

Tape the crap out of the jar. Tape the WHOLE jar because you are spray painting and it will get other places.

Lay the jars outside on a plastic bag, tarp or cardboard cutout

Lay the jars outside on a plastic bag, tarp or cardboard cutout

Spray the paint – back and forth – it’s an art!

Spray the paint – back and forth – it’s an art!

Apply one coat and let it dry completely before you apply the next coat. I applied four coats and it worked great

After the last coat, let the jar dry 24 hours before you use the chalk.

Rub the chalk back and length wise all over the chalk board surface and rub it off

Then the chalk board is ready to use!

14 Responses to “Chalk Board Mason Jars”

  1. texpatstarling July 11, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    This is a very useful DIY, as well as easy and cool. I keep putting off doing a project with chalkboard paint, but this might be the one that gets me to finally bite the bullet, as they say.

    • josephinamontoya July 11, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks! I want to paint everything with chalk board paint now! Let me know how it goes when you use it!

  2. Arantha July 11, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    You did such an amazing job and these mason jars were an awesome touch!

  3. Gianna Montoya July 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Josa, I love the jars! they are fabulous!

    • josephinamontoya July 11, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

      Thanks! They were fun to make! I was thinking we can make some for Christmas and put bath soak or something else in them!

  4. Paula Bowker July 11, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Such a great idea Josa! I loved this post 🙂

  5. PickyVeggieMom July 12, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    I have never used chalk board paint that comes in a spray can before how awesome!

    • josephinamontoya July 12, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      It’s so amazing! I was very tempted to spray paint everything in my house with it!

  6. suburban eye feast July 12, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Goooo girl! Super cute. I have tons of mini jars w/ chalk board paint on them and each is filled with sand from various beaches we’ve been to. I write the name of the beach/location on the jar. It never fails to make us smile when looking @ the collection.

  7. Anonymous October 12, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    Are they dishwasher safe after you spray paint them???

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jam Plan! « Josa's Hobby Lobby - July 18, 2012

    […] –This is a great time to use the chalk board mason jars and write what kind of jam you made. Good for gifts and being organized! Apricot Jam Apricot Jam […]

Let me know what you think!

