National Culinarians Day

25 Jun

Yes, that’s right today is National Culinarians (not sure if that’s a word but I totally dig it – I also dig saying the word “dig” it) Day!

Which basically means today is a day to honor cooks, chefs, bakers and anyone who likes to cook. And the best way to honor a cook is to eat, and love, what they make!

Also, Just in case you care the patron saint of cooks is St. Martha which was my Mimi’s (grandma) name and coincidently is my middle name. And not to go all religious on you guys, but I really love the story of St. Martha – I am sometimes a Martha and her story is a great reminder to have fun, enjoy life and not feel sorry for yourself. You can read her story here.

So back to honoring cooks – My favorite cook is obviously my husband. He is an amazing cook and makes the best Mac Cheese ever! The only thing about Shane’s cooking is I can never share recipes with you because he just cooks. He does not measure, or use recipes he just makes them up as he goes!

Since one of my new hobbies is to cook more (which I have not been doing a good job of) but when I do cook – you can find my husband hovering around making sure I am cooking correctly! Which is a love hate issue for me (and my mother-in-law since Shane’s dad does the same thing to his wife)

I love that he helps me and answers any questions I have and eats my food even if maybe the rice did come out a little crunchy – totally happened!

So tell the cooks in your life “Thank You” today – maybe get them a kitchen gadget they have wanted! Do something special for them.

And – if you are a cook – Thank You! My taste buds thank you, my stomach thanks you and my waist line hates you!

Who are your favorite cooks – and what are your favorite dishes they make?

Steak, mashed potatoes and mac cheese! This is so unhealthy but it was my birthday dinner. Shane made all my favorites! Then he got a fork lift and took me to the movies!

Steak, mashed potatoes and mac cheese! This is so unhealthy but it was my birthday dinner. Shane made all my favorites! Then he got a fork lift and took me to the movies!

A Cheese Cake Shane made. He makes the BEST cheese cakes!

A Cheese Cake Shane made. He makes the BEST cheese cakes!

Shane also makes great bread

Shane makes the best rolls!

Shane makes the best rolls!

Pub Risotto

Pub Risotto with Chicken, Pretzels and Green Onions

Blueberry Cream French Toast – Shane made this Sunday morning!

Blueberry Cream French Toast – Shane made this Sunday morning!

PS – as I am writing this I am watching the end of Blood Diamond and it’s such an amazing and sad movie! Even though I am writing about food, I am crying my eyes out because this movie is so good. Why must Leo die at the end of all his movies? I am going to write a blog post with lists of all the movies he has died in! Sorry – just a random thought!

4 Responses to “National Culinarians Day”

  1. Arantha June 25, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Yes, Shane is seriously amazing in the kitchen. I love the crostinis he makes with goat cheese and fruit and nuts.

    • josephinamontoya June 25, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Ohhhh that was so so so good!!!! We need to make that and take pictures!

  2. Anonymous June 25, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    ive gained 10 lbs looking at those pics and he IS an amazing baker

    • josephinamontoya June 25, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      I have gained so much weight living with him! He is amazing in the kitchen!

Let me know what you think!

