Childhood Hobbies Reinvented

8 Jun

I work in a highly secure building! The security here is air tight – you cannot get into our building unless your name is Tom Cruise/Ethan Hunt or your name has numbers in it ie 007! Or you just wait until someone walks by and you ask them to open the door 🙂

So it’s important that I NEVER lose my name badge – well that I never lose my second name badge. The first one was stolen by a 007 type or maybe I just forgot it somewhere in the universe.

It’s also important that you have a cute lanyard to put said name badge on. And finding these cute lanyards is near impossible!

So one day my wonderful friend and office mate Rochelle got me this amazing and beautiful lanyard! It had blue jewels and it sparkled! I loved the hell out of it. Maybe too much. Because soon, sadly, the lanyard started to fall apart L And I had to keep gluing it back together. Yes, I admit, I kept super glue at my desk just to preserve the lanyard. I not only superglue my fingers together but I accidently glued my phone to my desk. Now my iPhone case will forever have a piece of my desk attached to it L

The lanyard also started to pull my hair out, and I knew it was time to retire that lanyard and get a new one.

RIP

RIP

But like I said, it’s not easy to find cute lanyards. So Rochelle and I thought we would make our own! I used to be good at making friendship bracelets back in elementary! That is cheap and fun. In fact, my sister-in-law has a friendship making bracelet book!

So I asked Gianna (sis-in-law) to find the book. She thought it was in their storage shed. And I crawled over boxes, at night, a little tipsy to get to the box that held the book – only to discover the book was in her room the whole time.

Once Rochelle and I had the book, we needed the string. One day at lunch we ventured to an arts and crafts store and got a shit load of string for like 32 cents. And we also found a cute little Chinese restaurant that didn’t charge us much more for a meal! Double score (eww that sounds like 50 Shades)

After some practice, our lanyards came out beautiful! And believe me it’s not easy to make these bracelets in a house full of cats. Making these in front of my cats is like torture for them. They do sometimes give in and attack me with the string.

Once we became experts – we started getting requests from friends for normal bracelets.

I of course asked the husband what kind he would like and he picked the hardest pattern in the book which requires an engineering degree and the ability to do algebra with string. So he is not getting one.

Our friends Dan and Cannon, who have the pleasure of attending a little music even called the Electric Daisy Carnival (EDC) will be sporting our fabulous bracelets! And although we won’t be there physically, our spirits will in our bracelets – PLUR (hahahah just kidding!)

But seriously we wish we could go – maybe we will start selling our bracelets and make enough money to go next year!

Anyways, this is a new hobby of mine. Well more like a recycled hobby of mine. These are fun to do, let’s you be creative and you can give them to people which is also fun. I am happy that I still enjoy making these as much as I did when I was little.

Although, I sometimes feel like a loser who has a lot of cats and sits at home making friendship bracelets for fun! That does not sound good on paper – it’s like being a 32 year old boy scout!! Thank god I can drink while I make these bracelets, or I might be embarrassed enough to stop!

4 Responses to “Childhood Hobbies Reinvented”

  1. chaoticscribbles June 8, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    I remember making these! It became a craze in my school! Wouldn’t know where to start on them now:P

    • josephinamontoya June 11, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      Haha! I thought that too! But the book helped and now it’s fun again!

  2. Rochelle June 8, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Aww..love this post!! I must say I have a new found respect for kids who bust these bracelets out in a matter of minutes. Judging by the looks of my first bracelet, you would have thought I was drunk when I made it. Sadly, I was sober and it required intense concentration to get through one oddly twisted bracelet. haha

    And although I kinda feel like a 28-year old girl scout when I make them, it’s actually therapeutic and a fun gift to share with friends. Thanks for sharing your childhood hobby with me, Josa!

    P.S. If anyone wants one, please feel free to put in an order! We’ll only need to make about 2,000 each to raise money for EDC next year lol

    • josephinamontoya June 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Haha! I hate that I want to go get more sting and fun colors! Hahaha!

Let me know what you think!

