Axolotls

7 Jun

Something I have been doing a lot as of late is schooling people on these amazing (some may say ugly I say adorable) creatures.

Axolotls

Axolotls

These creatures came into my life a year ago and have been in my husband’s life for almost two years.

So some background, my husband works at a children’s museum here in AQ. He builds and designs exhibits for the museum, so he basically has the coolest job EVER!

He is also in charge of the animals at Explora (the museum) – he is kind of like a really HOT Hagrid! Everyone loves him and so do the animals!

So a couple years ago the museum got two of these odd creatures and well one thing led to another and they got knocked up! And these guys just don’t have one or two babies or even a commendable six like cats and dogs – these guys out did other species and had 80 babies! The second time (yes they had more!) they had about 75 babies.

Now these babies have to be separated from their parents, which sounds sad but their parents could possibly eat them – it’s not guaranteed but it could happen. There is also not enough room in one tank for all of them. So they have been split up and half are living in my dining room and the other half are living at Shane’s desk at Explora!

Once they grow up – Shane will find wonderful homes for them.

So learn and love friends – these guys are so amazing and cool!

Cool facts about Axolotls (pronounced Ax-oh-lot-ul)

  • They originate from two lakes near Mexico City
  • Because their natural habitat is shrinking they are now considered endangered
  • They are one of the few animals that have both gills and lungs, so they can breathe underwater or take gulps of air from the surface.
  • When they are sexually mature, the color of their fingertips changes
  • They can live up to 15 years!
  • You MUST be careful that they don’t eat the rocks in the bottom of their tanks! They will swallow them if the rocks are not big enough! This has happened to Shane – the original mama axolotl ate a rock then threw it up later!!
  • They have five toes in the back and four in the front. . . .
  • And this is the coolest thing about them –They regenerate body parts.
  • They are actually being studied because of this feature. Shane has seen an arm (and other body parts) regenerate! So awesome!

Hope you fall in love with these guys!

Axolotl

Axolotl

Axolotl

They come in different colors!

Axolotls

Axolotls

10 Responses to “Axolotls”

  1. The Husband June 7, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I’m just going to put it out there that I have about 40 little axolotl babies in our dining room right now. If you want to try these guys out as a pet or know someone else that might let Josephina know. I’ll give you the Hosa’ Hobby Lobby reader discount. (i.e. free)

    • Anonymous June 7, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      I do! I do! -Dom (Josa’s work friend)

      • josephinamontoya June 7, 2012 at 11:52 am #

        HAHAHA! Yay Dom I you will love one! I get you the details on what you need to get started!

    • Andrea Griego (Sedillo) June 8, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

      Dear Husband, I told your wife I’d take one.

      • josephinamontoya June 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        Andrea I am going to send you an email with more info 🙂

    • McQueen November 3, 2012 at 12:01 am #

      Are you guys still giving any away? I’m in Los Angeles.

    • Crystal February 26, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      I would love to have a pink or colorful one

  2. suburban eye feast June 10, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Oh my gosh! These things are adorable and I’ve never heard of such a thing. I wish I lived closer I would love to have one or two! Way to spread the awareness, you should start a Save the Axolotls club! 🙂

    • josephinamontoya June 11, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      We should start a club! I want a shirt that says I Heart Axolotls!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s the Small Things « Josa's Hobby Lobby - September 21, 2012

    […] the refrigerator and finding baby axolotl food. Yes the axolotl’s were at it again and now the husband is a proud father of 100. And this is what they eat – […]

Let me know what you think!

