Cooking, Baking and all that JAZZ!

24 Apr

I am going to add another hobby to my life. It’s not new, just something I need to do more.

My running hobby attempt is going well and although my knees are mad at me I have been running for a few weeks. I won’t say I am “addicted” to it, or that its become a habit – but I am working on it. And sometimes I look forward to running – and much like homework and church – I am always happy when it’s over!

My next hobby will be cooking more! Like I said before I love to bake and I am actually pretty good at it. However, my cooking skills need a little help.

I also want to cook healthy yummy food which is not always easy. So I am going to TRY and cook healthy versions of food – but that’s not always possible or fun. So if I can find or come up with an alternative version of what I am cooking or baking I will include both versions of the recipe.

My first recipe is one I got from another blogger I adore called Dashing Dish.

I made the Lasagna Roll-Ups and they were indeed delicious! And what’s great about them is they are so good and healthy and it’s just Shane, my brother and me so I had plenty left over for a healthy lunch.

Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

6 whole wheat (or fiber plus) lasagna sheets

1 cup cooked ground chicken or cooked lean ground turkey/ lean ground beef

1 cup low fat cottage cheese, blended in a blender or food processor until smooth, (or low fat ricotta)

1 cup frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry (don’t like frozen spinach so I left it out)

1/2 cup parmesan, separated

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp italian seasoning (or 1/4 tsp basil + 1/4 tsp oregano)

1 jar spaghetti sauce (I used)

Optional: 1 cup mozzarella sprinkled on top

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Pour 1 cup of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of the baking dish. Set aside.

2. In a large pot, bring water to a boil, and cook lasagna noodles according to package directions. (I recommend cooking a few more than 6, just in case one breaks or tears. With any left overs I threw them in another baking dish and made “messy lasagna”)

3. Meanwhile, in a medium size bowl, mix together meat, 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce, cottage cheese, spinach, 1/4 cup parmesan, and spices.

4. When noodles are cooked, drain in a colander, and lay on a kitchen towel to dry. Start assembling lasagna roll ups by spreading 1/6 of the meat mixture over each individual lasagna noodle.

Each roll only has 224 calories – and if you care it’s 6 Weight Watchers Points.

You can easily make this recipe not healthy by using regular noodles and non-organic sauce. But why would you want to? This is seriously so good you will think it’s bad. And I used ground turkey and it was delicious. Even my picky brother liked it!

Enjoy

2 Responses to “Cooking, Baking and all that JAZZ!”

  1. Arantha April 24, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    These look AMAZING!!!!!!! i’m hungry!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. National Culinarians Day « Josa's Hobby Lobby - June 25, 2012

    […] one of my new hobbies is to cook more (which I have not been doing a good job of) but when I do cook – you can find my husband hovering […]

Let me know what you think!

