Believe in the Beautiful

11 Apr

One of my goals/new hobbies is to be more girly! Yes that is right more girly! Now don’t get me wrong I would not classify myself as a tomboy or manly – and I am really girly in some ways but when it comes to makeup and other cosmetic type things – like applying nail polish.

For Christmas I asked for Sephora gift cards because I wanted to try new things. I made my wonderfully patient and beautiful friend Arantha (who has an awesome blog about beauty and fun food called Gourmet Beauty) take and school me on some products. I wanted to share with you what I got with her and what I have found on my own (surprise surprise) just in case I might help another poor unfortunate soul make a crucial make up decision. Below are some of my favorite products.

Makeup – I love – so far . . .

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer Illuminating

This is a lightweight, buildable sheer foundation formula that delivers a youthful, radiant finish.

I have never used foundation and I don’t consider this foundation. It’s a tinted moisturizer, although I put on a basic moisturizer with SPF before this because of the dry New Mexico sun.  And I feel like it helps the tinted moisturizer go on better.

Also, because I am makeup challenged it took me some time to understand that a little goes a long way with this. You don’t need much.

BareMinerals SPF Eye Brightener

Or as the common gal would call this concealer. As I get older, ugh, I see dark spots and puffiness below my eyeballs. I decided I needed to look more awake for my co-workers and husbandJ  Arantha recommended this concealer err I mean eye brightener as an alternative to the traditional liquid concealer because frankly concealer freaks me out.

This is easy to put on and makes me look a little more awake in the mornings – YAY!

Physicians Formula Vegas strip/Light Bronzer

One day I was watching tv and it was during the time Jennifer Lopez was all over the place – more than she is now. I thought she was so beautiful and still think she is beautiful but I wanted to copy her. I heard some TV host say she uses bronzer and eats a lot of salmon. So I went to Wal-Mart (yes that’s all I could afford, I was in college) and I got a lot of salmon and a bronzer that looked pretty. Well the salmon was ok but believe it or not I picked a great bronzer.

I don’t think Jennifer Lopez uses this bronzer, she probably has a special bronzer made of real bronze and gold and fairy sparkles but for me this worked. They have different shades – don’t get a shade that is too dark or you will look stupid.

This bronzer is also a double win because you can use some of the shades as an eye shadow – and I am nothing if not frugal and cheap – I mean creative.

Bella Pierre – Shimmer 9 Stack in Bella

So for some reason I am attracted to things that are more than they seem. Or have multiple functions – which is why I like the shimmer  9 stack. Because you get nine eye shadows and you can use some of the colors as a lip stain, blush and bronzer.

I mostly use them for eye shadow but I love all of them!

Sexy Mother Pucker™ Lip Plumping Gloss

I really just got this because I like to say the name! And they used to sell it at Target (and I get most everything I own from Target) now I have to go to Sephora to get it but it’s worth it.

This is a lip gloss (real lipstick scares me) and it’s also a lip plumper. It has something in it that makes your lips tingle and feel fat – it’s basically an allergic reaction on your lips so you have big full lips – the things we do for beauty. But I secretly like how it feels.

WOW for a girl who claims to not know too much about makeup I sure did go on and on! Hope you enjoy!

6 Responses to “Believe in the Beautiful”

  1. Arantha April 11, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    I love this post!!!!! I do love that bronzer you have from Physicians Formula. I need to get some. So it can be kept company by all my other compacts full of bronzer, shimmer, blush, etc. LOL/

  2. Arantha April 11, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    🙂 LOL

  3. Kristin April 13, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    I love that brightener too! And girl, we need to get you some fun lipstick too! No need to be scared! Lol! I don’t leave the house without eyes & lips anymore!

    I think I need to try that bronzer, I’ve been needing a good one! 🙂

    • josephinamontoya April 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Thanks Kristin! Yes I want a good fun lipstick but I never know what to get. Any suggestions?

      That bronzer is great – and makes me feel like I don’t need to tan!

      BTW – love you blog!!

      • suburban eye feast April 17, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

        Awesome! Shoot, for someone who needed “help” you stumbled across perfection! You should try Bare Minerals BUXOM GLOSS….awesome little pop of color that would look good in the NM sun! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

