Run Josa Run!

6 Apr

So I know it’s been awhile since I said I was going to start running as my first hobby. So I wanted to give you an update.

I just started.

Thanks to a horrible case of allergies – I literally could not breathe, smell or see. My eyes were swollen, my nose was leaking and my head was killing me. After a lot medication, a random snow storm in New Mexico (thanks mother nature for killing/clearing the pollen in the air) I was able to run!

And thanks to my beautiful friend Paula, who introduced me to the Couch 2 5K app on my phone – I started running today!

It went well – and was believe it or not relaxing! Soon, well according to this app, I should be able to run a 5K in six weeks! And most importantly survive the zombie apocalypse!

A 5K was not my original goal or plan – I just need an active hobby – but it’s a good goal. I have believe it or not ran a 5K only once before and finishing it was an amazing feeling. So I guess this will turn into a hobby/goal umm hopefully! I shall keep you updated on the running and any other new hobby/habits I try!

My beautiful sister-in-law, me and my gorgeous and wonderful husband after the Turkey Trot 5K

10 Responses to “Run Josa Run!”

  1. Paula Bowker April 6, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    Josa! Let’s run together!

    • josephinamontoya April 6, 2012 at 2:05 am #

      We should Paula! But give me maybe a couple more weeks to not sound like I smoke a pack a day:) Thanks for the app!

    • Anonymous April 6, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks for sharing! I need to get into the habit of running too. I’m going to get the app and see if that helps.

  2. Shannon Groves April 6, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Yay for running! Except for I’d way rather go to Village Inn and eat cheese fries and lemon dream supreme pie and talk about running instead of actually doing it =)

    • Josephina April 6, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      Yummm cheese fries from Village Inn and crazy plots to get doctors to give us diet pills! What great times! Miss you Shannon!

  3. Rochelle April 6, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Yay, Josa! Good for you. You’ve inspired me–I went for a run (aka slow jog) yesterday and I’m hoping to stick with it 🙂

    • Josephina April 6, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      Rochelle you should get that app Couch 2 5K and come running with Paula and I. Well maybe a nice long walk.

  4. Arantha April 6, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    YAY!!!!! Good for you!

    • josephinamontoya April 6, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Thanks Arantha! I have to get in shape for our upcoming pool days!!!!

  5. Arantha April 6, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to those pool days

Let me know what you think!

