The Hunger Games, Zombies and my first Hobby Trial!!!

26 Mar

This weekend I was one of the millions who went and watched The Hunger Games. I also read the book awhile back, and I thought they did a fantastic job with the movie!  Like most people, I always wonder what I would do in that situation. Unlike most people, I would have just jumped off the podium early and blown myself up because there is no way in my current athletic form I would have survived.

I also love the show The Walking Dead (see a pattern) – and again putting myself in a post zombie apocalyptic situation – I might survive a little longer since zombies tend to be a lot dumber than the evil tributes of districts one and two.  However, if I got lost from the group and had to run away from zombies for any length longer than the 50 yards it takes me to get from my door to my car – I would be a zombie for sure, or a zombie snack.

This brings me to my first hobby trial. I am going to start running! Just in case I get stuck in a competition that requires me to fight to the death against my peers. Or WHEN the zombie apocalypse happens (yes I do believe it will happen one day and I have a plan – running is the first step in my plan. More posts to come about that later) I will be ready in the cardio area

I am not a runner. I am 5’1’’ so basically I am short, with short legs. I am not a long distance runner – I just wish I was. So, I am going to try really hard to make that happen. I am going to commit to a 30 day period of running at least three days a week outside. The weather is beautiful so I have no excuse. If after the 30 day period I still cannot stand running – I will try another form of cardio. I will start small and just go by time – 30 minutes of running at least 3 days a week. I will report back – hopefully this will be the first step to better health, better body and better chance of surviving crazy unrealistic, I mean totally scary plausible events of the future.

3 Responses to “The Hunger Games, Zombies and my first Hobby Trial!!!”

  1. Arantha March 26, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    LOL! I love this. I know what you mean, if the zombie apocalypse actually happened I’d be one of the very first to go. First of all, I can’t run fast or far and second of all, when people chase me it terrifies so badly that I just stop running from them and wait to be gotten. LOL. I suck. Great post! Love you!

  2. Sarah March 26, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I love the walking dead too. Carl got me hooked on it, and I would try to out run those suckers they are so slow it seems like a fast paced walk would beat them!

    • josephinamontoya March 26, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      But Sara they never get tired so they will catch up with you eventually! Either way I need to be prepared! HAHA!!

Let me know what you think!

