I NEED A HOBBY!

21 Mar

So I need a hobby. I find that as I get older (ugh) – I do less and less.  I go to work, go home and watch TV. Sometimes I find the energy to cook dinner – or as my husband would say “assemble dinner” since I rarely cook. I mostly “assemble” tacos or a salad. I am only a good cook in my head. However I like to think I am an amazing baker!  Which is a great hobby for some but not my waist line, or my husbands or my brothers (who is also my roommate – I know but that is another post for another time) So I guess my baking hobby is not that great for everyone – it’s something that I really should limit myself to doing for special occasions only. And since I have so few hobbies I will document each baked good creation I make for your viewing pleasure and because you care so much!

I love to read! That is definitely my number one hobby. But, I need an active hobby. I need something that gets me off the couch and out into the world. I need to have experience and fun stories to bore my future kids with when I am old. Also, I read for pleasure not for educational purposes. I don’t care that a book won an award or if it’s a classic. So basically if there is some equivalent of magic, vampires, witches, wizards, some kind of murder mystery, ghosts, or Chelsea Handler in the book I am reading it! I will occasionally read a book that does not have anything listed previously if a trusted friend or Oprah recommends it.

But back to an active hobby – I need one. So I started this blog to try new activities that I can potentially make the ultimate commitment to and dub a hobby – i.e. brag about, put on a resume, and talk obnoxiously about to friends, family and coworkers (your welcome) – I will document my hobby trials and tell you what I think and what hobby will get a second chance/date. I am basically dating hobbies.  If you want to join let me know and we can make this a group effort!  Hopefully this will inspire others to get off the couch and live a little.

3 Responses to “I NEED A HOBBY!”

  1. Rochelle March 21, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    I love being a frequent recipient of your baked goods–always amazing! But I agree, we can all use more active hobbies in our lives. Springtime is inspiring and the perfect time to take up a new hobby. Warm weather=more outdoor activities!! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  2. Anonymous March 21, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    You have already inspired me by starting your blog!!! I am starting one to, looks like this may become my new Hobby!!!

  3. Arantha March 21, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    Great first post! My hobbies are very similar…super fun but not so fun for my waistline. Like plopping down on the couch with wine every day after work and watching trash TV. Also, you have motivated me to start my own blog. Go Josaa!

Let me know what you think!

